6.9 Head Gasket Time

tbirdfiend281

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I finally have a garage.

My cylinder head on the drivers side sprung an external leak from the head gasket.

This is what is going to happen to my truck.

Remove majority of front end to ease my access
Repair or replace steering shaft
Fresh front suspension (2wd truck
Head studs
Flux and check deck on stock heads
cam (maybe typ4 we shall see)

The maybes.

Install my 40 gal rear tank
Lifting the 2wd suspension, with some combo of super duty 2wd front springs, dayco spacer
Gauges, most of them are inop in the truck, so get them all spruced up
Fenders
Bed wheel well externals
Inter-cooler
Turbo upgrade to the ATS 093
E4od, I have a spare one that needs a converter sitting around
Rubber floor

So there we have it. I have come into managing an equipment shop, so I know longer physically wrench for a living, I am hoping this will keep me focused and motivated.

Kizer

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Sounds fun! Having a garage makes "all the difference". The first time I replaced head gaskets on one of these trucks was in apartment parking lot ... complete nightmare.

tbirdfiend281

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I don't mind working outside, I was a road man at the one truck shop I worked. I want to pull the tags off while I do it, otherwise, she would have been torn apart. It will be nice to stay out of the elements though.

no mufflers

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
if you get to the front lift, the dayco spacers work but everything else will have to be dropped to get proper alignment. I used them in my truck for a while and it made the geometry off on the caster/camber function.

I did a full 2'' lift with the twin I beam with a lot of custom work. I have a thread on it somewhere in the archives.