2000 Chevy C3500 6.5L diesel

Dylanviey

Reaction score
I'm a ford guy and have been looking for a new work truck for a while. (all 3 of mine have had a major issue that took them off the road in the past few months.)

Found a Chevy c3500 utility body no rust with the 6.5L diesel for under $4k so I figured I would switch to a Chevy for that price tag and a vehicle already set up how I want my work truck to be set up. (I work as a jack of all trades for a small railroad.) Also as a bonus it's hard to tell from the photos but it's custom painted Brunswick green which is the same color the painted the engines for one of my favorite railroads. Haha (Pennsylvania railroad)

I've been researching the downfalls and bullet proofing the engine and had a few questions about what other people do. I'm used to the ford 7.3 but not this engine.

The main thing I was wondering about was the vacuum pump delete.

So far what I have found was remove the vacuum pump and install another way to govern the turbo. But they don't really talk about how to govern the turbo, just talk about removing the pump. I was wondering what products other people have used and how they did it to govern the turbo. Last thing I want to do is blow up the turbo.

Also I was wondering has anyone ever converted/replaced a vacuum pump and turned it into an air compressor. Figured that would be better for me so I don't need to get a new serpentine belt. (the one it came with was shot but the previous owner gave me a new one for free.) if they ever converted a vacuum pump to what did you do. and what if you bought an bolt on compressor what did you buy? I remember someone telling me about converting a vacuum pump into a compressor but never really looked into it.