1993 7.3 idi knock or ping happening

7IdIguy3

Reaction score
Hello this is my first post on here and I’m hoping someone will be able to help me out. I have this knock that appeared when the timing gear housing seal was replaced and the pump gear was advanced by one tooth. After a long tedious task of getting the front of the motor removed to see the timing gears showed my timing was off. I reset the timing to top dead center aligned the pump gear to the cam gear Y to Y and put it all back together. The truck starts up and runs really good but when you give it fuel it has Delayed knock or ping I’ll try and add a video of the sound but I’m not sure what it could be. All injectors have been replaced too. Thanks for taking the time to read my troubles

7IdIguy3

Reaction score
They are remanned injectors from autozone (echlin) or something like that I believe is the brand

Brian VT

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm new to these engines also, so I don't claim to know what the issue with yours is, but I've learned a lot from this forum.
This is what came to mind when I read your post.

Lots of good info. in the IDI Tech. Article section.
Read up on the pump timing as well.

My engine also has a clatter. Not when idling but as soon as I get the truck moving. It goes away when I'm coasting. It also smokes grey/white heavily until it's fully warmed up (10 min. +/-). Then runs clean (almost no smoke). I'm thinking maybe an injector (or more?) is stuck until it comes up to temperature. And then maybe it's loud due to being out of spec.? causing the "knock".
I bought a timing meter but I decided that since I don't know where my injectors came from, or their condition, that I wouldn't bother setting the timing until I knew the injectors were all good.
So I recently bit the bullet and ordered new ones from one of the recommended rebuilders here.

Last edited:

Brian VT

Full Access Member
Reaction score