1992 E350 7.3 newbie trans questions

Markm88

Reaction score
Hey all, I am a newbie to the Ford stuff, today I just picked up a 1992 e350 cube van with the 7.3 for a steal. It didn’t come with a transmission installed, as the previous one had failed. He had removed and taken the old trans to a trans shop for repair but the guy decided to just buy a used one- which was included, but he said it’s the wrong trans, and something about that it was a half year and some of the sensors were different? Again.. new here.
My question is, what transmission should I source out? I have done some reading and determined it should be an E4OD.. is there in fact something different between them all? I know I need to find a diesel specific 2wd, but was there different ones? Much appreciated!

Last edited:

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
They were called an E4OD. Yes there are differences between the electronics of various years. I don't believe that each year was separate. I think that there was two sets of electronics (I'm not up on the E4ODs and I may be wrong), I believe there was an early and then a later set up. I also believe that if you had the electronics out of the bad transmission, you could put all of that in the "wrong" transmission.

Markm88

Reaction score
Thanks, yes that was a typo on my part- will edit. Unfortunately that’s my problem , I don’t have the original trans to compare too as the guy had the trans shop scrap it. Being new to these I’m trying to chase down what should be in the truck. Would a vin number confirm anything? Thanks for the reply

TNBrett

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have two other possibilities as to how it’s not the right transmission.
First, I believe there were two different bell housing sizes. One was for the 460 and the 7.3, the other was for the small blocks and the 6cyl. That would be easy enough to figure out with a tape measure.