1992 7.3 bad valve guide and two burned valves NEED HELP.

idi_man

rookie
Reaction score
just bought me a 1992 7.3 f350. truck came with a shop dignosis diagnosing two burnt valves and one bad valve guide. there is also a break at the manifold flange causing a killer exhaust leak. i am new to diesels and bought the truck to learn on. could i replace the valves with good used ones from a 6.9 head i can get for free? will a 6.9 manifold fit my 7.3? if i go the route of rebuilding one head, should i do both? also what problems can arise from driving it 10 miles a day to and from work with the known problems? any and all help will be highly appreciated. i had trouble finding any threads about this which is why i am posting a new one.

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Its not impossibe to do, but do both heads, the springs will or probably are broken and that is the real problem ,caused by worn guides.
It WILL drop a valve so fix it before its junk. 6.9 parts will fit fine and I have new springs, cheap.
If you spend the money now on a good valve job it will go a very long time. If you want more detailed info let me know.

Oh and get ahold of Danielle on here and ask her if she has a good machine shop to do the heads. very important.

GOOSE

Happy IDI'er
Reaction score
Welcome fellow New Jerseyan.;Sweet You are about 35 minutes up the road from me. I happen to have a rebuilt head with less than 15,000 miles on it of you are interested. I have the match to it as well, about 220,000 miles on it, not rebuilt of course. I also have extra manifolds. There is a shop in Vineland that does machine work, although I have never quizzed them on their diesel saavy. The work can be done in the truck but it can be pulled in less than 2 hours. It sure is nice working on a stand........

Welcome to Oilburners by the way, you are at the right place to address the issues that you are having.

Last edited:

hesutton

The Anti-Anderson
Supporting Member
Reaction score