1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

03 6.0 ficm questions

Discussion in '6.0L Powerstroke Diesels' started by Oledirtypearl86, Sep 13, 2019 at 3:17 PM.

  1. Oledirtypearl86

    Oledirtypearl86 Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Location:
    Whitehall MT
    Ok so my excursion passed an air test and I talked to a buddy he said check the ficm do cranking I get between 45 an 48 volts but the injector cycle at first key is eratic any who I had a new/rebuilt ficm I can try but it says it needs re flashed what's dothey flash on the ficm?and can I run it unflashe? The reason I ask is I herd they actually run better is this fact or fiction
     
  2. bismic1

    bismic1 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    Where did you buy the FICM? They come flashed (programmed) from Ford (and most other places as well). They do not need to be specifically programmed to your engine.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2019 at 12:25 PM
  3. Oledirtypearl86

    Oledirtypearl86 Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Location:
    Whitehall MT
    It's a international reman from napa where I work
     
  4. snicklas

    snicklas 6.0 and Loving It!! Staff Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    5,370
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Greenfield, Indiana
    So, is it a VT365 Spec'ed FICM for an International Truck

    Or is it a 6.0 Spec'ed FICM for a Ford Truck?

    IH and Ford run different programming for the engines. If it's indeed for an IH Medium Duty Application, it may very well need reflashed. I've not had to do a flash on mine, when mine failed, I sent it off and got mine fixed.

    If it's an IH application, I don't think the Ford Computer can talk to it. A reflash will make it so it works, because ita software diference, not hardware. If it's a Ford Speced one, it should at least run.
     
    Oledirtypearl86 likes this.
  5. Oledirtypearl86

    Oledirtypearl86 Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Location:
    Whitehall MT
    I will look at it more when I get home I just seen the sticker that said it was a Ford spec but needed a flash to meet emissions and such I put it in last night just didn't try it
     
  6. bismic1

    bismic1 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    I would just try it!
     

Share This Page