01' 2500hd project

Doctor100k

Reaction score
Hey guys, Just registered to the forums =) I have a 01' 2500HD truck that was originally the 3/4 ton single wheel rear that I converted to a 1 ton dually. The bed is a custom made flat bed. I operate a pressure washing outfit here in central Florida. I carry a low profile 500 gal tank along with my pressure cleaning engine, pump, hoses, etc. On RARE occasions do I put the truck on the road with the tank full.

Heres my questions:

**I want to convert it to a manual trans, what work is involved converting? mechanically and electrically.

**What can I do the the engine "externally" to boost performance, including computer mods? Some average and high end mods.

Both mods are for obvious pleasure purposes. I have lots of mechanical experience along with all the necessary tools. Money isnt an issue here but time can be as I need it for work, but I can work around a few days down. Any help or ideas will be great. Thanks Jason

rebel_horseman

Rt. Wing Extremist
Reaction score
Converting to a manual is going to be tricky. You'll need a new ZF 6-speed to swap in for starters, plus the clutch, slave and master cylinders, etc. You'll need a new clutch pedal assembly. The trucks PCM will have to be completely retuned so that it won't try to shift the Allison. I don't know if the cross members will need to be adjusted for either. Personally, you'll save a lot more time and money selling the Allison truck and buying one with the ZF than doing the swap. The Allison is a great trannie and I'd stick with that personally. The '01 Maxipad that I used to own had the Allison and I really liked it.