Waste gate dumping???

camo85

smoke em out
Reaction score
I am fairly new to the 6.0. Have had IDI and 7.3 psd for quit some time now. I got me a 2004 F-250 Harley Davidson edition 6.0 psd this fall. Well takin care of and originally from Florida. An issue has come up the past few weeks but only with bed empty and nothing in tow, and at low rpms... it acts as though all the boost gets dumped (in quick spurts of 4 or 5 blasts back through the clean air intake) before it does this you can hear the turbo kind of surging up and down or boosting oddly. I can put like 10k behind it on a trailer and it doesn't do this. It also doesn't seem to do it unloaded as long as I run with the tow/haul button on. I know I should start by scanning the cpu, but I haven't had time to get somewhere to have it checking during business hours yet. Does this problem sound familure to anyone? Or has anyone heard of an issue like this? Oil cooler is new (factory cooler, dealer installed), oil and filter new (motorcraft filter), both fuel filters are new (motorcraft), and air filter is new.

FordGuy100

Reaction score
These are VGT turbo's, no wastegate. Does it happen when you let off the throttle quickly? Sounds like sticky veins to me. I would give it hell and try to get all the carbon out if the turbo. Otherwise you gotta pull it an actually clean it. Carbon builds up and won't let the veins move easily.

92F350CC

Ford Man
Reaction score
And that might be a symptom of what some people call 'well taken care of'. If that means that they drove it once a month to get groceries....your turbo is probably gunked up like all hell.

camo85

smoke em out
Reaction score