Two banks turbos... which to use first

Mr Clickety Clackety

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Good morning gents.
So I have two banks non wastegated turbo kits. they have two different turbos.
I am going to have them both rebuilt due to shaft play. the one that has the banks name on it has a little bit of play, but the rotomaster has a bit more play in it.

Does anyone here know if the rotomaster came from banks?
Is one turbo better than the other?

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

Mr Clickety Clackety

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I am new to turbos and I need some advice.

Should I get these turbos rebuilt (save one as a backup) or should I get a wastegated turbo?

I have the old banks turbo intake box (actually have two very used kits, both non wastegated) but I would like to eliminate it and put a fmic.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

77f250diesel

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yes, Banks used Rotomaster turbos on they're early kits.
Typ4 did the compressor mod on mine and it made a huge difference in boost starting right off idle and easily peg my 15 lb. boost gauge.

Clb

Another old truck
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My first gen banks on the 88 would build boost at 1500 up,
Empty, but I bought this for pulling grades.

My ats 093 kit on the 93 will do the same, the wastegate is tricky to finness at max boost\egt. Pyro or not, but for pulling the n.g. banks held its balls till ya lifted.
If I was driving by pyro solely,,, I would go n.g. ..
For d.d duty the w.g. unit works well spool it and go.
Hope this helps add to the dozen threads here on the subject(I dought it adds nadda)
Cb out.

Mr Clickety Clackety

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I guess a better question would be
Is there a significant benifit to a wastegated turbo over a non wastegated turbo? / is there a major draw back to a non wastegated turbo?

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score