Servicing HFCM

Broncoxraptor

Reaction score
Is there any special trick to this? I looked at the manuals listed in the tech articles and none of them mention the HFCM when it comes to Fuel servicing. I read the sticky on the water separator, thanks for that but is there a procedure for replacement and bleeding? Thanks.

War Wagon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There is an allen head plug on the side of it to drain the fuel. It's way less mess that way. Also you will want the special 36mm socket for the cap if you're going to do your own services. Do some shopping around for the filter kit. It's expensive. So, looking around a little to find the best deal is worth your time.

snicklas

6.0 and Loving It!!
Staff member
Reaction score
HFCM Servicing, at least the way I do it, and I have been doing it this way for the last 5 years I've had my truck.

Park the drivers side up on a set of ramps, to get the truck tipped toward the passenger side
Slide under a drain pan, and yourself from the passenger side of the truck..... this helps to keep you away from the fuel mess.
Remove the 6mm allen head plug from the lower right side of the HFCM. You will need to us an "L" shaped allen wrench to fit between the transfer case and the HFCM if it is a 4X4
Allow fuel to begin to drain from the HFCM, go under the hood, and loosen the secondary fuel filter lid. This allows the fuel to drain from the secondary filter housing, and the line to it,
When the fuel finishes draining, replace the 6mm head plug into the HFCM (So you don't forget to put the plug back in)
Take the 36mm socket and begin to remove the large cap from the back of the HFCM. This cap is the same size as the oil filter cap under the hood. Experience with my truck is there is only about 1 click's worth of movement of the ratchet in the area where you can place the ratchet and socket into the frame rail, just in front of the transmission cross member.