Problems with my 89 7.3idi

Martin Connor

Reaction score
Guys, new to the site...joined 10 mins ago. so I just got my first IDI at a fair price thats needs some work and while I am no mechanic I am willing to get my hands dirty to fix up this old truck. For starters fuel, oil pressure, temperature guages dont work at all so im assuming the sending units are bad on each?maybe? Changed the fuel filter, injectors and return lines and got er going awsome... runs awsome like a singer sowing machine. Problem is C6 transmission was slipping in 2nd, changed the modulator valve and no more slipping but problem now is will not shift until 2500 rpms each gear and really really hard shifts so VRV right? Cant find one for sale ANYWHERE, I have vacuum on top line but none going to transmission, but im not sure if its bad or just out of adjustment, and thats a little out of my technical skills range adjusting that thing. Third problem I have a fuel/coolant leak somewhere towards the back of the engine and can not for the life of me figure out where its coming from, its dripping off the oil pan/starter on to the exhuast pipe, cant tell if it fuel or coolant. But my names martin and I would appreciate any and all advice on any of these problems, thanks in advance.

shawn deere

So many wrenches, so little time...
Reaction score
Welcome! On the oil leak, is the valley pan on the top of the engine wet? Itll all run twards the back, could be comming from above

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
before you change sending units, check the cluster for ground issues.
having more than 1 dead gauge is odd,
welcome to the site,
sounds like you got some know how, keep chugging...

AcIdBuRn02ZTS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Valley pan has a drain port which dumps out just above the starter... so for the fuel/coolant leak.. start at the valley pan area. Fuel is probably coming from a return fitting or similar.