[newbie] Smokin' like a Son of a Gun (w/pic)

nitroguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

As you may know, I'm totally new at this game. Honestly, I'll admit that I know NOTHING about this truck, even things that should be common sense, aren't (YET!). I WILL learn it, but it takes time. Small gas engines and big diesel engines have quite different characteristics, and I'm learning. So bear with me.

That said, here's my first question: IS THIS NORMAL??
You must be registered for see images attach

Got the truck three days ago, and I certainly don't remember this type of smoke. Here's what I know:

*Bought the truck three from a reputable diesel mechanic. Just before he sold it, he pulled the engine replaced head gaskets and "sealed up the engine from common leak points".
*I think Glow Plugs are new too, but don't actually have any verification of that.
*I'm down to 1/4 tank on the front one. Recently switched to tank B for the first time.
*Was driving home yesterday and there was a pretty strong rubbing sound from the front (probably be another thread on that in the future). Pulled off the freeway, fiddled, and pulled back into traffic with a pretty heavy foot. In doing so, TONS of white smoke poured out the back. The engine was just about up to operating temperature, ambient air was maybe 45 degrees. By the time I tried to pull back out of traffic to investigate (and pray I didn't just blow up my new engine) the smoking stopped and all was good. No more smoke the rest of the way home.
*Today at Denny's, got out, and waited to start until the light goes off. Wait another 4 seconds for good measure, then fire her up. Starts first crank, and am showing my buddy my fancy new truck, when I notice "the fog" completely enveloping the car next to me. It's 39 degrees out. Driving back from Denny's, it's smoking like crazy the whole way.