Might add a Powerstroke to the fleet!

crash-harris

Breaker! Breaker!
Reaction score
This is my first time on this part of the OB. We still need a 4x4 vehicle for winter so the wife can get out of the driveway and we both HATE the Hyundai. Ideally, I've been looking for another IDI powered truck in a SCLB 4x4 configuration that I could later put Bruiser's cab on. I did find a few promising leads (2 trucks, not far away from us or each other, N/A IDI's, 4x4, SCLB, both duallies), HOWEVER...this morning I found a 2001 4x4 Excursion Limited with a Powerstroke within our price range and in our town. It's backed by an auto trans (which I hate, therfore I don't own any, but the wife will be the one driving it). The listing states that it starts and runs perfect and has 119K miles on it.

I've been reading up on what to look for here and there, but...

My questions are obviously, "What should I look for/at specifically?"

Where is the GEM module located and how do you guys tell if it's been messed with?

What are the other things I should look at for tampering?

What are the common high rust risk areas on these? (I've only ever dealt with pre-97 and never intended to get anything newer).

Should the Powerstrokes also have SCA charged coolant like the IDI's?

What kind of mileage should I suspect out of this thing?

Any other major areas of concern?

First thing I'll go for is driveline and u-joints, rust, checking/smelling fluids, looking for leaks, the normal sort of things, as well as attempting to check turbo shay play. And of course a test drive.

This thing won't get beefed up or anything, it'll just be my wife's new daily driver and if all goes well, would get sold in a few years (if I get Bruiser back up to ***** and reliable). We also want it to take the place of the Hyundai Accent so we can sell that thing ASAP (great mileage, terrible everything else).

All info and any pictures are appreciated!

Last edited:

snicklas

6.0 and Loving It!!
Staff member