Manual Selector Valves / Electric AND Mechanical fuel pumps

Status
Not open for further replies.

bike-maker

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've had people ask me about my fuel system, and have never started a post on it, just commented on others.
So here we go; I have been running this setup for about 4 years now, and it still works perfect.
I'm running a Carter P4070 electric fuel pump parallel to the stock mechanical fuel pump.
Props to MidnightRider for giving me this idea in the first place.
When I first set this system up, I wanted manual valves, the redundancy of two fuel pumps, was running a lot of WMO (which electric pumps don't like), but the ability to prime the system with the electric. So I kept the stock mechanical and added an electric along side it.

On the way to a family Thanksgiving dinner years ago, my stock fuel selector valve stuck in between the 2 tanks. It was pulling from the front, and returning into the rear, which overflowed the rear tank and dumped about 5 gallons of diesel along the interstate. After some redneck engineering to get me home, and a wonderful dinner at the kids table (some of the adults couldn't handle my stink from pouring a gallon of diesel down my shirt), I took out the FSV, "adjusted" it with a sledgehammer, and threw it in the garbage.

First off, the manual valves.
Ordered some from McMaster-Carr; Diverting 3-Port Bronze Ball Valves Part #4373K52; they were about $26 each.
Mounted them just to the left of the driver's seat so I could finagle the valves while driving.
Supply in front, return in the rear shown here with both switched to the front tank:

You must be registered for see images attach

And here with both switched to the rear tank:

Another pick from underneath the truck: