Electrical Gremlin

Zephyr

Reaction score
I am struggling with an electrical problem on my 1994 F250 IDI. Long story short, when I turn on the running lights, I can't turn them off without disconnecting the battery. After disconnecting the battery (main headlight switch off), I can reconnect the battery and no running lights until the headlight switch is turned on and the cycle repeats. I replaced the headlight switch and problem continues. NOW, when I remove the #4 engine compartment fuse (trailer running lights) the problem does not occur so I am suspecting running lights are backfeeding from the trailer circuitry.

I have several questions:

1)Checking power to the #4 fuse, I am getting 12v always on the right terminal. Can someone verify this is correct for me?

2)Are their areas in the wiring from fuse box to trailer receptacle that could be easily evaluated for the cause?

My schematic reading stinks and I am no electrical expert. Any help? Thanks!

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
I'm nothing that even remotely resembles an electrical expert, but maybe try a new headlight switch. Strange things can happen when you're dealing with electrical systems.

TNBrett

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Is this a new problem, or a problem that you just noticed on a relatively new to you truck? It sounds like a relay wired up in a latching configuration. Like someone may have tried to add a relay in line to the trailer lights and done it incorrectly.

Maybe look near the engine compartment fuse block, or near the back of the frame with the trailer and taillight wiring.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
Zephyr,