300 Hp!

Late_99_psd

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Alright. My brother has a 91 7.3 IDI zf-5 with a banks turbo. I would estimate my PSD at right around 300 hp, so my question is, what would it take to get to that mark on and IDI?

I VERY much realize that it is much more difficult on a IDI than on my PSD to reach this number, I'm just toying the idea around in my head.

So this is my list so far.
-Injectors (either DPS or Moose)
-Turbo (looking at an HX35 right now)
-Head studs
-Intercooler

What else would be necessary to reach this goal (cam, pump, valve springs)

BTW I normally hate these threads because they just show peoples ignorance, but I am new to IDI's so I have to ask, Thanks!

NMB2

Dunce
Reaction score
pump, injectors, a good turbo, not the turbo kits that are sold for them. big intake, big exhaust 4" on each end. Studs and intercooler. 20+psi should easily hit 300hp.

FordGuy100

Reaction score
300hp requires roughly 135cc/1000 strokes of fuel.

Its all a guessing game at that point. Nobody with a 6.9/7.3 IDI that I know of or have seen has dyno'ed that high. Its all speculation.

92F350CC

Ford Man
Reaction score
1. remove 7.3
2. insert 5.9 P-pump
3. turn a screw

I'm sorry, the IDI is an absolutely amazing engine that can pull anything and run forever, but it's very difficult and $$$ to get 300. It may be possible, Heath was getting 202 RWHP on his with Moose pump and moose misters. Maybe with an intercooler and a better turbo, he could hit it.

Alex S

Jeoff
Reaction score
1. remove 7.3
2. insert 5.9 P-pump
3. turn a screw

I'm sorry, the IDI is an absolutely amazing engine that can pull anything and run forever, but it's very difficult and $$$ to get 300. It may be possible, Heath was getting 202 RWHP on his with Moose pump and moose misters. Maybe with an intercooler and a better turbo, he could hit it.

ditto!

and i highly doubt you can find another 100 HP with just the IC and turbo

can a moose pump even deliver 300 HP worth of fuel?