91 7.3 IDI NON TURBO BLOWN HEAD GASKET. ONLY 70K MILES

74montercarlo

Reaction score
HEY GUYS AND GALS I HAVE THIS F250 I ACQUIRED 3 WEEKS AGO. I BOUGHT IT FROM MY INLAWS THE TRUCK ITSELF ONLY HAS 35K MILES BUT THEY SEVERALLY OVERHEATED THE ORIGINAL MOTOR BEYOND REPAIR. I GOT ANOTHER MOTOR OUT OF A TRUCK THAT HAD BEEN ROLLED OVER AND ONLY HAD 70K MILES (VERIFIED BY CARFAX). NOW I AM A ASE CERTIFIED MECHANIC SO I HAVE QUITE A BIT OF KNOWLEDGE ANYTHING MECHANICAL BASED. TODAY I WENT TO GO START MY TRUCK AND IT BLEW WHITE SMOKE LIKE CRAZY AND WAS RUNNING LIKE COMPLETE CRAP IT EVEN BLEW MY UPPER RADIATOR HOSE OFF. I PUT IT ALL BACK TOGETHER AND TOOK THE CAP OFF AND STARTED IT UP AND IT BLEW PUFFS OF SMOKE OUT THE RADIATOR ON EVERY POWERSTROKE OF ONE OF THE CYLINDERS. I TOOK ALL THE GLOW PLUGS OUT AND BEGAN TO PUT THEM BACK IN ONE BY ONE WHILE CRANKING THE MOTOR OVER (NOT STARTING) UNTIL THE COOLING SYSTEM BECAME PRESSURIZED, IT PRESSURIZED AS SOON AS I PUT THE NUMBER TWO PLUG IN (IF INTERNATIONAL USES THE SAME CYL IDENTIFICATION AS FORD? ITS THE SECOND ONE BACK ON THE DRIVER SIDE.) SO I KNOW THATS THE HOLE BLOWN AS I TOOK THEM ALL BACK OUT EXCEPT NUMBER TWO AND IT STILL PRESSURIZED. NOW MY QUESTION IS WHY THE HELL DID THIS HAPPEN WITH SO LITTLE MILES? I HEAR THESE ARE A MILLION MILE MOTOR? I KNOW THAT IF THE CDR VALVE GOES BAD IT CAN DUMP OIL INTO THE THE NUMBER 7 AND 8 HOLES AND LIFT THE HEAD. I REPLACED MY CDR VALVE YESTERDAY DUE TO LOOSING ALOT OF OIL IN 3 WEEKS TIME. THIS TRUCK NEVER GAVE ME AN ISSUE PRIOR TO THIS I ADJUSTED THE TIMING ABOUT 1/16TH OF AN INCH ADVANCED AND AFTER THAT IS WHEN I STARTED TO GET ALOT OF SMOKE I ASSUMED IT WAS BECAUSE OF THE TIMING SINCE THE TRUCK NEVER EVEN HICCUPED A LITTLE AND NEVER OVERHEATED WHAT SO EVER. ONE MORE QUESTION I HAVE IS SINCE THIS THING PUMPED SO MUCH COOLANT DO YOU GUYS THINK IT COULD HAVE BENT THAT ROD? I WOULD HAT TO REDO THESE HEADS AND HAVE IT HAVE A BENT ROD. ANY INFORMATION WOULD BE AWESOME! THANKS GUYS! :mad: