fuel issue advice

73idi88f350

Full Access Member
Reaction score
truck will run fine for a week+ then 1 day have air in fuel system, bleed it out then magically its back again.... some times its really hard to get it restarted right after you shut it off and it wont start right back up, like soon as it stops turning hit the starter again(operating temp)... i also tried letting it cool down 6-8 hours and thought maybe heat soaked ip,no difference. btw i am a mechanic im just new to diesels but ive owned this truck for about 3 years so i know most the basic stuff ive seen on here just cant find anything on this..

ive replaced every piece of rubber on the fuel system

new
motorcraft fuel olives
later style return line kit (brand bwd) greased orings and the caps "popped" on removed the hard line olive in the back and ran the ip to the first injector and brass T for return to tank.
fuel filter (fram not my fav but what was available)
beru glow plugs
2 new super start group 31 batteries
starters 1 years old turns over super fast all new made cables when starter installed

new 2 years ago was a precision fuel pump, now im wonder if this is my issue... ive heard its a reboxed airtex if thats the case i already know... im pretty sure i have the factory one, i was just gonna swap it back on...

now the other thing the injector pump is unknown along with the injectors.. but when it runs it runs great.

i have another ip i took off the old motor the truck had when i swapped it about 2 years ago that ive had bagged up.. but is also unknown.. ip rebuilds been on the list.. just aint got there yet.

Last edited:

73idi88f350

Full Access Member
Reaction score
well i found my orig fuel pump. pumped it by hand and had suction on the first pump on fuel inlet...

got the old one out.. pumped it by hand 20 times no suction on fuel inlet.. installed the orig pump had fuel at the injector in about 4 cranks and it fired up.

guess my fuel pump was dead odd it was intermittent