Introduction and Gear Vendors Issue

EasyRider01

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
My name is Dustin and I just purchased a 1987 F350 Crew Cab Long Bed Dually with 6.9 diesel and c6 tranny with gear vendors overdrive. This is my first diesel and Ford so I'm a total newb with both. Purchased the truck in Nashville with the gear vendors overdrive not working and drove it home, close to Topeka, Kansas, at 55mph the entire way to conserve fuel. That was a LONG trip! I'd like to get the overdrive working again.

When I drove it home the electronics for the gear vendors overdrive were not working at all. Upon arriving at home I inspected everything and discovered that a fuse was blown and one wire to the solenoid was damaged. Replaced the fuse and repaired the wiring at the solenoid and I had power to all the electronics. Took a test drive and overdrive did not engage, upon slowing down at about 20mph the rear end shuttered like it was locked up or something so I immediately shut down the overdrive and all was well again.

I searched high and low through the posts here and learned quite a bit on how it works and what to test. I believe my solenoid is not engaging and I discovered the o'rings on the solenoid are also shot. I removed the solenoid and hooked it straight up to a good working 12 volt battery and no click whatsoever. I'd like to know where I can get another solenoid? I'm not sure how I can identify whether I have the "J" series or the "P" series unit? Is there anything else I should test before ordering the solenoid? I'm pretty mechanically inclined and am not afraid to rebuild the unit if I need to.

I will have a lot more questions on the truck but I'd like to keep the posts/replies simple and each to their own topic. You all seem to be pretty well informed on this subject. Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score