Just bought a 7.3 IDI. Questions/Details

jwillvin

Reaction score
Hi,

First post here. I'm new to diesels so I have a few questions about my new to me truck. First off it's a 93 f350 extended cab dually 4x2 with 212,000 miles on it. I've been searching for a truck for about two months because I wanted to buy a truck camper to use with it. A few guys at work mentioned that diesels usually get more mpg so I turned my attention to them. After looking at a few busted up rusted out trucks (I live in Ohio) I was surprised when I found one on Auto trader that looked to be in good condition based on the pictures. I drove a couple of hours south of my home, test drove it, talked to the owner about the history and maintenance of the vehicle, and bought it for $3500. The previous owner told me he used it to haul his horse trailer a few times a year from Indiana to upstate New york and that he bought it from the original owner in 1995. It fires right up without any smoke and drove very well on the ride back home. Like I said it has no rust at all but a little bit of peeling paint on the fiberglass dually fenders. It has an ARE truck cap. The interior is in very good shape and everything works as far as A/C, heat, cruise control, both tanks, lights, knobs etc. He also gave me a folder with service receipts of all the work he's had done to it in the past. Some of the work done:

Oil changed every 10,000 miles.
Coolant flushed every 2 years and additive added. (He even gave me a bottle of the additive that I'm to use in the coolant)
New fuel filter every 35,000 miles
Lift pump and fuel injection pump @ 141,000
Glow plugs @ 156,000
Shocks at 158,000
Master cylinder ad belt tensioner @ 178,000
Wiper motor @180,000
Ford re-manufactured transmission @ 185,000
Muffler and exhaust pipe @186,000
Rear brakes @ 187,000
Front bearings, seals, driving pinion, rear pinion differential, rear bearings, rear seals @ 190,000
New ignition, door locks, door actuator @ 191,000