6.9 Diesel Glow plug issue

Ford Guy

Reaction score
I have a 1987 F-250 with a 6.9 Diesel, and the glow plugs cycle, but they only run one cycle, as in they only click once, you have to turn the key on and off to get them to recycle, as they should on their own, and the wait to start light also isnt working. Im thinking that the actual controller, not the relay is bad, i think it is reading that the fuel in the engine is already heated and letting them cycle off, but im not entirely sure, if you have any input it would be greatly appreciated.

stevedrums

Full Access Member
Reaction score
sounds like a controller to me but i am no expert. there is a great diagram floating around this forum that shows you how to wire in a manual switch. just some wire, connectors, fuse and the switch.

sle2115

NRA LIFE MEMBER
Reaction score
Watch the diagrams for 86 and older as the system is different. If yours is an 87, it should be the solid state system. First thing to do is check the glow plugs. If it short cycles, it's often a plug or more gone south. The ground also is important. Clean the connection on the driver side of the manifold and make sure you have a good ground. Might even want to run a wire to the negative post on the battery (I actually wired one in permanently). The solid state controllers can be wired with a pushbutton, but it is done differently than the older ones. You have to connect a terminal to ground with a switch to switch the gps on.

Wyreth

Certifiable Noob
Reaction score
The controller only reads block temp, and the resistance of the GP's. Even when mine is warm the WTS light will come on, even if only for a sec, and I get a initial, and afterglow cycle. (briefly)

If the controller clicks, then the relay is likely good. But if you are going to replace the controller, that type comes with a relay in it. (you have the 7.3 system, which is apparently much better)