Register to remove these ads

Thread: HELP!wait to start light works only sometimes/ glow plugs may not be working properly

Thanks

question HELP!wait to start light works only sometimes/ glow plugs may not be working properly

i just bought a 1992 7.3 when i put the ignition in the on position my wait to start wont come on. i doubt it is a fuse cause sometimes it will come on, any ideas. also in the mornings when i go to sart it i get no light so i wait for about a minute to start, turn the key, it cranks but wont start. i put it back in the run position try again and it starts. the temperture hasnt been getting lower than 45 at night. this is my first diesel so im new to it all. just trying to figure it all out. any ideas?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by IDIotbobby View Post
    i just bought a 1992 7.3 when i put the ignition in the on position my wait to start wont come on. i doubt it is a fuse cause sometimes it will come on, any ideas. also in the mornings when i go to sart it i get no light so i wait for about a minute to start, turn the key, it cranks but wont start. i put it back in the run position try again and it starts. the temperture hasnt been getting lower than 45 at night. this is my first diesel so im new to it all. just trying to figure it all out. any ideas?
    How sad is this... just happened to me this morning too.

I replaced the GP relay and Beru's a month or so ago and all was good until this AM.

Did I burn it out already?

I have exactly the same symptoms as you described.
    2003 F250 6.0l 4x4 Camper Special, Line-X, shell, electric trailer brakes, rest is stock.scared to drive her 145,000 miles on it, cost me $37k new. Ford and Int'l owes me big time!
    1990 F250 XLT Lariat, all stock 7.3l 2WD, Fugly paint, 76k miles for $1.5k! Not afraid to drive her.
    1987 300D Turbo Mercedes 6 cyl love to drive her, nor am I afraid to. All stock, mostly broken amenities. Cost $2997.00 used. 30MPG, runs like a bat outta Hades!