Fuel tank selector valve is bad

Mulochico

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Well, the fun continues. The valve went bad and I am looking at options.

1) Manual valves. 2 valves (supply and return). Not sure where to get them but I don't want to do the electric thing again.

2) Gravity feed transfer line between the tanks (just like the semi's). This is what I am leaning towards to eliminate the switch all together as I am a truck driver and familiar with the setup.

If I go with the transfer line it will have a valve on both ends just in case I need to remove a tank, etc. It would pull fuel from the front tank as it sits lower in the frame. The rear would feed the front thru the line between them and I would only need the front gauge to be hooked up.

Any ideas or comments. If I remember the fittings can't be galvanized as the fuel corrodes it. Am I correct. Any ideas for where to get parts, etc.

All ideas are welcome, especially simple no nonsence ones ;Sweet

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Manual valves can be had from any marine or boat supply outfit. As for the gravity feed line, how will you modify the tanks to do this? They don't have a bottom feed like your semi does. Don't forget your fuel gauge attaches to the senders throught the FSV, so if you pull it, you will need to decide which tank your going to monitor, and hardwire it.

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
napa has a 6 port switching valve that is solenoid operated and I think it's like 30 clams and will work just fine but it will not make the connections for the senders. It's a one wire operation if I remember correctly. Actually has two wires but one is ground, so that when you energize it the solenoid fires switching to the other set of ports, then when you remove power it's spring loaded so it flips back. Used one when I had an aux tank in the bed - worked just fine.

mariobusalacch

Reaction score